Concealed Weapons Permits

CONCEALED WEAPONS PERMITS

The Marin County Sheriff's Office will fairly and impartially consider all applications to carry firearms in accordance with applicable law and this policy.

Per the Supreme Court’s ruling in New York Rifle & Pistol Association v. Bruen, requiring an applicant to establish ‘good cause’ to get a carry permit is unconstitutional. To comply with the ruling, we will no longer enforce this requirement or require applicants to demonstrate good cause to qualify for a license to carry a firearm.

Prior to submitting your application, please e-mail us at ccwapplications@marinsheriff.org so we can determine within what jurisdiction you reside. Some applications are handled by the local municipalities within Marin County. 

QUALIFIED APPLICANTS

In order to qualify for a license to carry a firearm, the applicant must meet certain requirements, including:

  • Be a resident of the County of Marin (Penal Code § 26150; Penal Code § 26155).
  • Be at least 21 years of age (Penal Code § 29610).
  • Fully complete an application that will include substantial personal information. Much of the information in the application may be subject to public access under the Public Records Act.
  • Be free from criminal convictions that would disqualify the applicant from carrying a firearm. Fingerprints will be required and a complete criminal background check will be conducted.
  • Be of good moral character (Penal Code § 26150; Penal Code § 26155).
  • Pay all associated application fees. These fees are set by statute and may not be refunded if the application is denied.
  • Provide proof of ownership or registration of any firearm to be licensed.
  • Be free from any psychological conditions that might make the applicant unsuitable for carrying a firearm (Penal Code § 26190).
  • Complete required training (Penal Code § 26165).

Application Process

Any individual applying for a license to carry a firearm shall first fully complete a California Department of Justice (DOJ) application to be signed under penalty of perjury. Any applicant who provides false information or statements on the application will be removed from further consideration and may be prosecuted for a criminal offense (Penal Code § 26180)

At the time the completed application is submitted, the applicant shall submit a check made payable to the California Department of Justice for the required California DOJ application fee, along with a separate check made payable to the County of Marin for a nonrefundable 20 percent of the application fee to cover the cost of processing the application (Penal Code § 26190).

The applicant shall be required to submit to fingerprinting and a complete criminal background check by the California DOJ. A second set of fingerprints may be required for retention in department files. Two recent passport-size photos (2 inches by 2 inches) of the applicant shall be submitted for department use. No person determined to fall within a prohibited class described in Penal Code § 29800, Penal Code § 29900, Welfare and Institutions Code § 8100, or Welfare and Institutions Code § 8103 will be issued a license to carry a firearm. A license shall not be issued if the California DOJ determines that the applicant is prohibited by state or federal law from possessing, receiving, owning, or purchasing a firearm (Penal Code § 26195).

The applicant should submit at least three signed letters of character reference from individuals other than relatives.

The applicant shall submit proof of ownership or registration of each firearm to be licensed.

Once the Sheriff or authorized designee has reviewed the completed application package and relevant background information, the application will either be advanced or denied.

Upon successful completion of the above portion of the application, the applicant shall be scheduled for a personal interview with the Sheriff or the authorized designee. During this stage, there will be further discussion of any potential restrictions or conditions that might be placed on the license.

The Sheriff may, based upon criteria established by the Sheriff, require that the applicant be referred to an authorized psychologist used by the Department for psychological testing. The cost of such psychological testing (not to exceed $150) shall be paid by the applicant. The purpose of any such psychological testing is intended only to identify any outward indications or history of psychological problems that might render the applicant unfit to carry a firearm. This testing is not intended to certify in any other respect that the applicant is psychologically fit. If it is determined that the applicant is not a suitable candidate for carrying a firearm, the applicant shall be removed from further consideration (Penal Code § 26190).

The applicant shall complete a course of training approved by the department, which complies with Penal Code § 26165 (Penal Code § 26165).

The applicant shall submit any firearm to be considered for a license to the Range Master or other department authorized gunsmith, at no cost to the applicant, for a full safety inspection. The Sheriff reserves the right to deny a license for any firearm that has been altered from the manufacturer's specifications or that is unsafe (Penal Code § 31910).

The applicant shall successfully complete a firearms safety and proficiency examination with the firearm to be licensed, to be administered by the department Range Master, or provide proof of successful completion of another department-approved firearms safety and proficiency examination, including completion of all releases and other forms. The cost of any outside inspection/examination shall be the responsibility of the applicant.

Once the Sheriff or authorized designee has verified the successful completion of the application process, the license to carry a firearm will either be granted or denied.

A full and comprehensive explanation of the CCW application process can be reviewed by reading our CCW Policy

keyboard_arrow_up